Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Mozzarella Cheese: Take 1

on May 28, 2013

With the long weekend I decided I better get back into the cheese making pool again. I had picked up a little e-book called Keep Calm and Make Cheese by Gavin Webber. It’s got a quick mozzarella cheese recipe in it I thought I’d try out.

One of the things I’ve mentioned in past posts is how hard it is to find cream top (or cream line) milk. This is milk that has been unhomogenized. I thought I’d show a couple of pictures of what I’m talking about.

creamlinemilk1

In this picture you can see a line a couple inches down from the lid. The milk looks a little darker and more yellow above the line. That’s because that portion is all solid cream. It’s also where the name “cream line” comes from. The majority of the milk you buy at the store is homogenized. The homogenization process breaks the cream down into such tiny particles that it can’t come back together again. How many of you still shake your milk jug before you open it? That’s leftover from when you HAD to shake it to mix the cream back in.

creamlinemilk2It’s not a very clear picture but that clump on my knife is the cream from the top of the milk. I have to break it up a bit before I can pour the milk into the pot for making cheese. Once I have most of the milk out of the bottle I put the cap back on and shake it vigorously to finish getting the cream off the sides of the bottle. In the pot you can see these clumps of cream floating around until the milk is warm enough to melt it. Then you see this yellow fluid on top, that’s actually butter fat from the cream. Pretty cool, huh?

So… about that mozzarella. It was a pretty easy recipe to make. Took me maybe an hour tops from starting to gather my equipment and sanitizing it to having a finished process. The fun part is kneading the cheese and pulling and folding it to make it the right consistency.

mozzarellaMay272013

I got four balls, each about 2-3 inches in diameter. Yesterday, it had very little flavor. I tried some this morning and I’m not sure I like the flavor. The recipe called for lipase which can add extra flavor to the cheese. I found the flavor to be slightly sour and leave an unpleasant after taste in my mouth. I’ll have to wait and see if this mellows over the next day or so. This recipe is easy enough to make that I’ll be making it again, perhaps even later this week. The recipe only calls for 1 gallon of milk which is nice since many of my cheese recipes use 2 gallons.

There is also a mozzarella recipe that takes much longer to make, several hours. Once I get this fast version down, I’ll try my hand at making the long version. I’d like to be able to make some beautiful mozzarella braids.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

