Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Kicked-up Scrambled Eggs

on June 15, 2013

I hate scrambled eggs. It was the first thing I learned to cook around age 3-4. I ate them as a kid with no problems. The problem was when I became an adult and a LOT more discerning in my tastes. Scrambled eggs usually have one of two things wrong with them. They’re overcooked, dry and rubbery (the way I grew up with them) or they’re undercooked and slimy (gross).

The other day I was hungry and eggs were about the only thing left in the house since we’re technically on a juice fast. I have discovered though that I need more protein so I’m usually eating at least one heavy protein meal a day. Anyway, I digress, back to why I made something I hate.

I was thinking that if I made a couple of changes to the standard “dump the eggs in a hot skillet and stir” method, I might get something more edible. (Sorry, Mom, I just don’t like the way you cook scrambled eggs)

Now, one way to avoid dryness is to add a little bit of liquid. Heavy cream is PERFECT for this because it adds a bit liquid without overpowering the eggs, is very thick and rich with fat so increases the softness of the finished product.

Next, I wanted a bit more  flavor. I decided dill and shallots would give me an herby, oniony flavor without being too strong.

Finally, a little more protein, bacon and feta cheese.

Recipe

3 large eggs

1 TB heavy cream

1-2 tsp chopped fresh dill (use 1/3 this amount if using dried dill)

1 tsp freeze dried shallots (use a bit more if using fresh and saute them in the pan to tenderize them before adding the egg mixture)

1/4 cup bacon bits

ground black pepper to taste

1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

Grease a small skillet and preheat over medium heat.

In a bowl, mix together everything except the feta cheese. (If using fresh shallots, saute them in the skillet you’re making the eggs in until translucent. You can dump the rest of the egg mix right on top.)

Pour this mixture into the hot skillet. I like to use a silicone spatula for this part because the eggs don’t stick to it but use what ever stirring implement you have on hand. Gently scrape around the edge of the skillet and then underneath the egg mixture to bring up the cooked bits and let the raw mix get down to the bottom. Basically, this is your standard scrambling technique. You want the eggs to be cooked so that they’re not slimy but still have just a touch of sheen to them.

Dump them into a bowl and top with the Feta cheese. I think it took me less than ten minutes to make.

kickedupscrambled eggs

A note about my ingredients: I used the pre-cooked bacon pieces you can buy at the store. I know that I try to stay away from processed and preservative laden foods but I’m lazy and yes, I use pre-cooked bacon pieces. Freeze dried shallots are the bomb and I really prefer the freeze dried shallots over fresh because the flavor is a bit milder.

 

Leave a Reply

