Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Mustard-Dill Wet Rub

on August 1, 2014

Last week Jene brought me a double pack of boneless pork shoulder from Costco. I turned one into carnitas (I may have gotten close to having perfected that one) and decided to do a wet rub on the other before smoking it. It came out awesome so I though I’d share 🙂

Recipe

9 oz mustard (I used dijon but I’m sure you could use just about any type you wanted)

4 oz turbinado sugar

1/4 cup dill weed

1/4 cup salt

1 TB ground celery seed

1 TB onion powder

1 TB garlic powder

1 1/2 tsp black pepper

 

Put all ingredients in a bowl and mix thoroughly. Spread on meat.

 

It’s obviously a really easy recipe. Ideally you would let it marinate overnight but I forgot and wound up smearing it on and cooking it right away. It’s still good even when it doesn’t get to sit. I would use this on chicken, pork, and/or seafood. For the mustard and sugar the measurement is given in weight because it was easier to put it on a scale than try and use measuring cup.

Leave a Reply

