Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Bierocks

on April 8, 2015

When I said that I hadn’t done any cooking lately, I wasn’t completely accurate. I just forgot that I’d made Bierocks a couple of weeks ago.

One of the first questions many people ask is “What the heck is a Bierock?” Basically, it’s a filling of meat and veggies wrapped in either bread dough or pastry and baked to make an easy, hand held meal. Pasties are another name for them. In the Upper Peninsula of Michigan they call them Pasties and the workers in the Iron Mines would put them in their coat pockets, hot out of the oven, to help keep their hands warm until they could eat them for lunch. I have my ex-husband to thank for that little piece of trivia lol.

So the reason I decided to make these was that some friends of mine on Facebook started talking about them and I got jealous. They’re actually pretty easy to make so I decided to put some together.

The traditional filling is ground meat (I used beef but you can use lamb or pork or chicken), onions and cabbage or potatoes. Being me, I couldn’t leave that alone so I got a bit fancy. 😉 And because I have a lovely bread machine I made a batch of beer cheddar bread for the wrapping. You can use any flavor of bread dough you like. In fact, if you don’t want to make bread, you can buy frozen bread dough and use that after thawing it out.

Filling:

Ground beef

1 medium onion – chopped

2 cups spinach – chopped

1 lb asparagus – chopped

Brown the beef and onions in a skillet. Add the spinach and asparagus and cook just until tender. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Make or thaw the bread. I used 2 ounce portions and put about half a cup of filling in each and wrapped the bread around it to make little pockets. Bake in a 350F oven until golden brown, 30-40 minutes. I brushed butter over the tops after I pulled them out of the oven. This made 16 Bierocks with a bit of bread dough left over (I made a 2 lb loaf). I think I ate 3 and I don’t have a huge appetite so they’re smallish. You can make them bigger if you prefer.

I don’t have any pictures since they’re long since eaten but they were quite tasty. Jene said I can make them again 😀

Leave a Reply

